Nobel literature prize 2022 awarded to French author Annie Ernaux

By Tasso Konia
  • 5k
  • 5k
  • 5k

Annie Ernaux was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2022 on Thursday at the Swedish Academy in Stockholm. The Nobel Prize was given to Annie Ernaux "for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements, and collective restraints of personal memory," according to the Nobel Prize committee.

Abdulrazak Gurnah, a Tanzanian-born UK-based writer whose work focuses on the effects of migration, was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2021 "for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents."

In 2020, the award was given to US poet Louise Gluck. The Nobel literature prize was postponed in 2018 as sex abuse allegations naming the Nobel literature committee rocked the Swedish Academy.

The Nobel prize announcements kicked off on Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo receiving the award in medicine for his work on Neanderthal DNA. Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger jointly won the physics prize on Tuesday for their immense contribution to quantum physics. In chemistry, the Nobel prize was awarded to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, K. Barry Sharpless, and Morten Meldal on Wednesday for developing click chemistry.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday while the economics award on Monday.

Prev Post

Tips On Minimalist

Next Post

Less Is More

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Get Every Newsletter

We are not gonna make spamming

Build your website & grow your business